Article - Record 110 teams in SCA 2023 season
View Article

Record 110 teams in SCA 2023 season

Abu Rubait Alam (

Record 110 teams in SCA 2023 season

                                                                      Photo:  2022 Premiere League winners Highland Creek with SCA executives after emerging victorious in the final.

A RECORD 110 teams are slated to be in action when the Scarborough Cricket Association (SCA) 2023 season swings into gear on May 6. This represents an increase of 16 from the 94 which participated in the 2022 edition.

Faced with the loss of the Ajax Cricket Ground, which is undergoing complete rehabilitation, the SCA has been able to secure Cedarvale ground in Toronto and Jeffrey Park in Whitby. However, several prospective teams, were turned away, posing a real concern to President Shiv Persaud and his executives.

Earlier this year, Persaud disclosed that because of the lack of facilities, the SCA turned away 45 applications, thereby putting approximately 1350 constituents out of cricket.

While only the Cedarvale and Jeffrey Park facilities will see action on May 6 and 7, featuring mainly T20 and T30 games, the other divisions will bowl off on May 13 and 14.

Defending Elite champions Naseeb Cricket Club (NCC) who created a stir last year by dethroning defending champions Ambassadors Sports Club in the semi-final, before inflicting a six-wicket defeat on Victoria Park in the final, played at the Ashtonbee Number One ground, open their 2023 campaign against Ajax Cricket Club on Saturday, May 13 at the Ellesmere South ground. In the other opening Elite fixture, set for the following day, Island Warriors face Victoria Park at L’Amoreaux.

The victory also meant that NCC achieved the feat in their first year in the Elite Division, after being promoted from the Premier Division which they won in 2021.

The other teams in contention in the Elite Division are Highland Creek, who earned promotion after winning the Premier Division in 2022, Kaieteur International A, who also played in the Premier last year, Highland Creek and Caribbean Stars.

Ten teams are vying for supremacy in the Premier Division, which has been divided into two groups. Group A has Bangla Warriors, Champions CC, Janbaaz CC, Maple CC and Toronto Invaders CC while Group B comprises of Ajax CC, Bilal CC, Palace Panthers/Scarborough Legends, Team Tigers and Toronto Rhinos CC.

The First Division, which will also see ten teams battling, has also been split in two divisions. Armor CC, Bawa X1 CC, PBR CC, TP Tigers CC and United Titans are in Group A while Group B has Ajax CC, Durham United CC, Kaieteur International CC, Knightly CC and United CC.
The eight teams in the Second Division are Ambassadors Sports Club B, Oshawa/Hawks Toronto Braves, Superstars, Team Tigers, Toronto 6ixers, Toronto Seawolves, TPark Youngstars and Victoria Park.

Challengers CC, Friends United CC, Lawrence CC, Northumberland County CC, Pickering Panthers CC, Pro Sports CC, Stikbook CC and Toronto Invaders make up the Third Division.

The T30 (Elite and Premiere), T20 (Elite, Premiere, First and Second Divisions) and Over-50 are the other divisions to be contested while efforts are being made to revive the women’s and youth categories.

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login